St Augustine’s parish has been at the centre of Catholic life in High Wycombe for more than 120 years and we are fortunate to belong to a thriving community experiencing growing numbers.
Our parish has a long and interesting history dating back to 1889 when local landowner Philip F. Rose, a convert to the Catholic faith, asked Bishop Arthur Riddell to set up a parish here.
Fr Herbert Ignatius Beale was appointed to High Wycombe in 1889 to serve the small Catholic community in South Bucks, and in 1894 the church of St Augustine’s in Castle St was consecrated.
This was followed by the opening of the church of the Little Flower in Beaconsfield in 1927 but it was not until 1957 that the church we know today on Amersham Hill was opened.
From here the other churches in High Wycombe – St James, St Wulstan’s and Our Lady of Grace developed. Together with St Edmund Campion they combined to make up the parish of Blessed John Henry Newman.
Today we are blessed as a parish having more than 500 families, a vibrant liturgy, a beautiful church building and strong and active lay leadership in many aspects of parish life.